GD Contrary to Religion?

Awakening eras, crisis eras, crisis wars, generational financial crashes, as applied to historical and current events
dane900

GD Contrary to Religion?

Post by dane900 »

I've been studying GD for almost three years now, and it's been one of the most interesting, relevant and valuable subjects I've ever come across. On the whole, I've found it gels extremely well with what I already know about history, as well as with what I see every day on the news or in my own relationships. There is one area, however, where I disagree with John. In the Generational Dynamics For Historians online book, he had this to say:

"Now, if God is all-powerful, and God created the earth, it's clear he could have created an earth where the food supply and population grew at the same rate. Instead, he created a world in which the population grows substantially faster than the food supply. That's his fault. That means that periodic wars are mathematically required. That's also his fault. Therefore, wars are God's fault, not humans' fault."

Now, John's atheism is not something I have a problem with (nor is it really any of my business), but obviously I do disagree with this. My own religion (Protestant Christianity) teaches that God did create such a world, and humans ruined it. I considered asking about this when I first read it, but since he was making a blanket statement that covered all the various gods of different religions (and because it went up way back in 2004) I decided to just let it go. But then recently, this came up:

"In fact, the Malthus effect is contrary to the tenets of every religion and ideology, since acceptance of the Malthus effect would make the religion or ideology valueless."

I find the Malthus effect to be extremely valid, both intuitively and from the evidence of history. But I disagree that it is either 'against the tenets' of my own religion, or that it 'makes the religion worthless.'